Thursday, 2021-05-06, 10:13 AM
Welcome Guest | RSS
Shadows Workout
Main | Workout CD 8+ | Registration | Login
Site menu

Shadows Workout CD 8+

It's strange how my list for instrumental backing tracks never shortens. Right now I have enough titles to probably fill as many Workout CDs as I have already recorded!

Again I have tried to blend easy and difficult tunes from each era of the Shadows history and have included two non-Shadows titles: "Pipeline as per Hank's live version and "Aquarius" from Hank's first solo album from 1969.

With "Pipeline" I had the pleasure of having Mark Griffiths come over and record his excellent bass part for me. It was great to meet him and watch him play. Many thanks Mark.

Also a few months ago Tony Hoffman (Shadfax Magazine) came to stay for a couple of nights and while he was here I gave him some overdub guitar parts to play on "Zero 'X' Theme" which he recorded perfectly - cheers Tony you saved me some time.

A while ago I recorded a backing track for the Cliff song "A Girl Like You" and with the vocal help of Ian Geast have finally managed (after about two years) to include it on this CD - you can play lead guitar to one of the backing tracks here or play lead guitar and sing as well to the other.

Once again my eternal thanks go to Dave Prickett for his constant high standard of keyboard and orchestral parts on the Workout CDs - just brilliant!

Well that's it! I better go and start No. 9 before the list gets any longer.

Have fun - we did recording it.

List of tracks on Workout CD (Volume 8+):

  1. PIPELINE - Demonstration Track
  2. PIPLEINE - Backing track (+ Ben Marvin Guitar Part)
  3. PIPELINE - Backing Track (+ Hank Marvin Guitar Part)
  4. PIPELINE - Backing Track
  5. IF YOU LEAVE ME NOW - Demonstration Track
  6. IF YOU LEAVE ME NOW - Backing Track (+ 12 string Guitar Part)
  7. IF YOU LEAVE ME NOW - Backing Track
  8. AQUARIUS - Demonstration Track
  9. AQUARIUS - Backing Track
  10. MISTY - Demonstration Track
  11. MISTY - Backing Track
  12. SEALED WITH A KISS - Demonstration Track
  13. SEALED WITH A KISS - Backing track (+ Tremolo Guitar Solos)
  14. SEALED WITH A KISS - Backing track
  15. A GIRL LIKE YOU - Demonstration Track
  16. A GIRL LIKE YOU - Backing Track (+vocal - no lead guitar)
  17. A GIRL LIKE YOU - Backing Track (- no vocal - no lead guitar)
  18. NAUGHTY NIPPON NIGHTS - Demonstration Track
  19. NAUGHTY NIPPON NIGHTS - Backing Track
  20. EVENING GLOW - Demonstration Track
  21. EVENING GLOW - Backing Track
  22. ZERO X THEME - Demonstration Track
  23. ZERO X THEME - Backing Track (- no bass guitar solo)
  24. ZERO X THEME - Backing Track
  25. BOMBAY DUCK - Demonstration Track
  26. BOMBAY DUCK - Backing Track
  27. WITH A HMM HMM ON MY KNEE - Demonstration Track
  28. WITH A HMM HMM ON MY KNEE - Backing Track

  • Ian McCutcheon - Lead guitar, acoustic guitars, bass guitar, drum programming
  • Dave Prickett - Keyboards
  • Mark Griffiths - Bass guitar on tracks 1-4
  • Ian Geast - Vocals
  • Tony Hoffman - Overdub guitar on tracks 22-24

All lead tracks are performed using the "Echoes From The Past" echo system devised by Charlie Hall and all electric guitar tracks recorded using the Session Acetone Amplifier.

Equipment used:

  • Zoom RFX2000 with "Echoes From The Past" echo system devised by Charlie Hall.
  • KCP Marvin Amplifier
  • Fender Jazz Bass
  • Various Fender Stratocasters
  • Yamaha CPX8 acoustic guitar
  • EKO Ranger 12 string acoustic guitar

Cover Design:
Derek Spicer, Joy McCutcheon and Bob Saunders

Produced by:
Ian McCutcheon

Special thanks to:
Charlie Hall, Michael Shefras, Tony Hoffman, Alan Scrafton, Ian Harper, Mike hill, Eric Kingdon, Jenny Spicer, Brian Bowman, Lee Argent, Kevin Wooten, Phil Wolstenholme, Maurice Woodcroft, Jon Malcolm, Martin De Liefde, Bernard Broche, Dave Moore, Amy Harper and Tony Clout.
Login form

News calendar
«  May 2021  »


Site friends


Total online: 1
Guests: 1
Users: 0

Copyright MyCorp © 2021

Website builderuCoz