Thursday, 2021-05-06, 10:20 AM
Welcome Guest | RSS
Shadows Workout
Main | Workout CD 11+ | Registration | Login
Site menu

Shadows Workout CD11+

A message from Tony Hoffman:

Having known Ian McCutcheon for several years now it never ceases to amaze me how much time, effort and dedication he puts in to each Shadows Workout release. Here we are at No. 11 and with over 130 tracks already under his belt Ian remains focused and motivated down to the very last note of each recording.

As with Ian's previous releases Workout 11 offers a rich variety of sounds and styles covering every aspect of The Shadows/Hank Marvin's recording career from the 1960s through to 1990s.

Hank Marvin's "Wahine" from 1969 is sheer beauty and will no doubt prove popular at the many Shadows Guitar Clubs. "Snap, Crackle And How's your Dad" and "The Tokaido Line" are sourced from The Shadows' 1967 LP "From Hank, Bruce, Brian and John" and are faithful reproductions of the originals.

The seventies are represented by the rugged "Jungle Jam", "Rusk" and the melodic "God Only Knows". We then fast-forward to the eighties and nineties for "I Just Called To Say I Love You", "Careless Whisper", "Take My Breath Away" and "The Next Time", the latter being one of the highlights of the "Hank Plays Cliff" album.

At this point I must mention the keyboard skills of Dave Prickett who has captured the sound and feel of the original Shadows recordings perfectly.

Customary to Ian's Workout CDs there is a non-Shadows track which on this occasion is Diamond Head, a tune written and recorded by top American guitar band The Ventures, released as a single in the UK back in 1965.

No doubt Ian is already sketching out ideas for Volume 12 (due in 2007) and with so many great tunes still awaiting the McCutcheon touch I am sure the Shadows Workout series will continue for many years to come.


List of tracks on Workout CD 11+:

  1. TAKE MY BREATH AWAY - Demonstration Track
  2. TAKE MY BREATH AWAY - Backing Track
  3. RUSK - Demonstration Track
  4. RUSK - Backing Track + 2nd guitar
  5. RUSK - Backing Track
  6. CARELESS WHISPER - Demonstration Track
  7. CARELESS WHISPER - Backing Track
  8. I JUST CALLED TO SAY I LOVE YOU - Demonstration Track
  9. I JUST CALLED TO SAY I LOVE YOU - Backing Track
  10. GOD ONLY KNOWS - Demonstration Track
  11. GOD ONLY KNOWS - Backing Track
  12. THE TOKAIDO LINE - Demonstration Track
  13. THE TOKAIDO LINE - Backing Track
  14. DIAMOND HEAD - Demonstration Track
  15. DIAMOND HEAD - Backing Track
  16. JUNGLE JAM - Demonstration Track
  17. JUNGLE JAM - Backing Track
  18. WAHINE - Demonstration Track
  19. WAHINE - Backing Track
  20. THE NEXT TIME - Demonstration Track
  21. THE NEXT TIME - Backing Track
  22. SNAP CRACKLE & HOW'S YOUR DAD - Demonstration Track
  23. SNAP CRACKLE & HOW'S YOUR DAD - Backing Track

  • Ian McCutcheon - Lead guitar, acoustic guitars, bass guitar, guitar synthesizer, drum programming
  • Dave Prickett - Keyboards

Equipment used:

  • Zoom RFX2000 with "Echoes From The Past" echo system devised by Charlie Hall.
  • Pinnacle Twin 30 Amplifier
  • Fender Jazz Bass
  • Various Fender Stratocasters
  • Yamaha CPX8 acoustic guitar
  • GL Clarrissa classical guitar
  • Roland Guitar Synthesizers
  • Various Korg and Yamaha keyboards

Cover Design:

  • Derek Spicer, Joy McCutcheon and Ian McCutcheon

Produced by:

  • Ian McCutcheon

Special thanks to:

  • Charlie Hall, Pete Alden, Ken Vickers, Tony Hoffman, Alan Scrafton, Ian Harper, Mike Hill, Eric Kingdon, Jenny Spicer, Brian Bowman, Lee Argent, Kevin Wooten, Phil Wolstenholme, Maurice Woodcroft, Jon Malcolm, Martin De Liefde, Bernard Broche, Dave Moore, Amy Harper, Dick West, Alan Taylor, John Harris, Iain Purdon, and Tony Clout.

Login form

News calendar
«  May 2021  »


Site friends


Total online: 1
Guests: 1
Users: 0

Copyright MyCorp © 2021

Website builderuCoz