Wednesday, 2020-09-30, 8:05 AM
Welcome Guest | RSS
Shadows Workout
Main | Workout CD 17+ | Registration | Login
Site menu

Shadows Workout CD 17+

This CD is dedicated to the memory of Malcolm Hall

Thanks again for purchasing my latest workout.

In the same format as Workout 16 I have concentrated on a more varied selection of material which I believe should appeal to "Shads" players.

Sadly Jet Harris and Bert Weedon are no longer with us and as a tribute I have recorded backing tracks for Jet's "Applejack" and Bert's "High Steppin'" and "Tokyo Melody". Incidentally, Bert used a Burns Double Six 12-string electric on "High Steppin'" and for those of you with a good memory "Tokyo Melody" was the television theme tune for the 1964 Olympics.

Also I have finally included, after many requests, a backing track for the Bristol Eagles version of the "Exodus Main Theme" which I should have recorded ages ago.

On the less challenging side I have recorded a backing track for Sky's "Carillon" and have included two separate backing track mixes - one including the electric solo in the middle and one without.

I recently bought a copy of Duane Eddy's latest CD and just had to produce a backing track for "Twango" - again there are some alternative backing tracks here depending on which part(s) you wish to play.

On the Shadows side of things I have produced backing tracks for "Up Where We Belong", "Three Times a Lady" and "Scotch On The Socks".

Finally, I have put together a version loosely based on the Shadows 1980's live version of "Peter Gunn" which gives a bit of scope for self-interpretation.

Again, many thanks to Dave Prickett for his incredible keyboard skills and attention to detail.

Well I suppose I had better go and plan the next CD - any suggestions?


List of tracks on Workout CD 17+:

  1. UP WHERE WE BELONG - Demonstration Track
  2. UP WHERE WE BELONG - Backing Track
  3. TWANGO - Demonstration Track
  4. TWANGO - Backing Track (plus acoustic guitar solo)
  5. TWANGO - Backing Track (without acoustic guitar solo but with some acoustic guitar fills)
  6. TWANGO - Backing Track
  7. THREE TIMES A LADY - Demonstration Track
  8. THREE TIMES A LADY - Backing Track
  9. EXODUS (MAIN THEME) - Demonstration Track
  10. EXODUS (MAIN THEME) - Backing Track
  11. CARILLON - Demonstration Track
  12. CARILLON - Backing Track (plus electric guitar solo)
  13. CARILLON - Backing Track
  14. APPLEJACK - Demonstration Track
  15. APPLEJACK - Backing Track
  16. PETER GUNN - Demonstration Track
  17. PETER GUNN - Backing Track
  18. SCOTCH ON THE SOCKS - Demonstration Track
  19. SCOTCH ON THE SOCKS - Backing Track
  20. HIGH STEPPIN' - Demonstration Track
  21. HIGH STEPPIN' - Backing Track
  22. TOKYO MELODY - Demonstration Track
  23. TOKYO MELODY - Backing Track

  • Ian McCutcheon - Lead guitar, acoustic guitars, bass guitar, drum programming
  • Dave Prickett - Keyboards
  • Richard Dubber - Vocal part on "Scotch On The Socks"
  • Joy McCutcheon - Starglide part on "Up Where We Belong"

Equipment used:
  • 40th Anniversary "Hank Marvin" Fender Stratocaster (no 35) (kindly loaned by Michael Sillett)
  • KCP Marvin Amplifier
  • Alesis Q2 and Zoom RFX 2000 with "Echoes From The Past" echo system devised by Charlie Hall.
  • Various Yamaha and Taylor acoustic guitars.
  • Fender Jazz Bass
  • Ibanez five string bass
  • Roland Juno Di keyboard

Cover Design:
  • Bob Saunders and Ian McCutcheon

Produced by:
  • Ian McCutcheon

Special thanks to the following for their support:
  • Charlie Hall, Pete Alden
  • Tony Hoffman ("Shadsfax" magazine Tel: 01904 621761)
  • Alan Scrafton ("Friends Of The Shadows Guitar Club" Tel: 01702 290309)
  • Ian Harper ("East Yorkshire Shadows Guitar Club" Tel: 01723 366811)
  • Warwick Shadows Guitar Club Tel: 01926 882762
  • Jenny and Derek Spicer, Brian Bowman, Lee Argent, Kevin Wooten, Phil Wolstenholme, Jon Malcolm, Bernard Broche, Richard Dubber, Dave Moore, Dick West, Alan Taylor, Michael Sillett.
  • Tony Clout (Producer of the music and tab for the "Shadows Workout" CDs. Tel: 01375 392349)

[ ]
Login form

News calendar
«  September 2020  »


Site friends


Total online: 1
Guests: 1
Users: 0

Copyright MyCorp © 2020

Website builderuCoz